What's New
Our Affiliation

Indian Confederation for Healthcare Accreditation
IFCC Sponsored Awards
Two International Awards are given by IFCC every three years coinciding with the IFCC Congress. These are:

1. Distinguished Clinical Chemist Award : This award was started in 1969 with the generous support by Miles Laboratories. Inc. (USA) now known as Bayer Corporation. The award recognizes specially an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the science of clinical chemistry or the application of clinical chemistry to the understanding or solution of medical problem.

The award notice is given by IFCC a year in advance of IFCC triennial Congress through IFCC News and IFCC Website (http://www.ifcc.org/). The information is also given to national representative and President of National Association. ACBI also informs its members through its News Bulletin and its Website (www.acbindia.org).

2. Henry Wishinsky Award for Distinguished International Service : The award was instituted in 1981, again with the support of Miles Laboratories, Inc. (USA). This was earlier known as Distinguished International Service Award and in 1989 the new name was given in memory of Henry Wishinsky, a distinguished International scientist and a Vice-President of Miles Laboratories. The award honors an individual who has made unique contributions to the promotion and understanding of clinical chemistry throughout the world.

The awardees are selected by an ad hoc award committee appointed by Executive Board. Nominations are sought from all members of IFCC at least 18 months before the award is to be made. The awards are bestowed at the triennial International Congress of Clinical Chemistry. The members of ACBI are entitled to nominate distinguished Indian or foreign clinical Biochemist for these awards.

3. IFCC-Roche Award (previously called IFCC-AVL Award) for Significant Advances in Critical Care Testing : The 1996 ICCC in London was the occasion for the presentation of the first IFCC - AVL award. The award is given every 3 years during IFCC Congress. This award is open to scientists or physicians under 40 years of age who are conducting research in the area of clinical diagnostic testing related to critically ill patients. The award is organized as a contest, which initially involves competition at national levels, followed by an international final. The sponsor of the award, Roche Diagnostics, Schaffhausen, and Switzerland provides a total prize money of US$ 100,000. The International winner gets the prize of US$ 30,000 and national winners US$ 10,000 each.

The information package for participation can be obtained from National Societies or from IFCC -Roche Award Secretariat: P.O. Box 1140, CH-8207 Schaffhausen, Switzerland. Fax: 41 848 800 875, or detail can be seen on IFCC Website (www.ifcc.org).

4. IFCC : EDMA Award for Evidence of Effectiveness of Laboratory tests :- The IFFCC-EDMA award is given for the best investigation presenting evidence for the benefits of laboratory testing as basis for better decision in health care. It is the objective of the award to support the generation of papers of high scientific quality on laboratory testing outcome as an essential tool in increasing the effectiveness of patient treatment, both from the medical and the economic viewpoint. Laboratory scientists, laboratory managers, Physicians and health economists can apply for this award by submitting papers accepted or published. The IFCC Award Committee together with two experts from EDMA will decide on the best paper. At the next IFCC Congress (ICCC) the winner of the competition presents the paper and receives the award together with a cheque of ECU 7500.

Detailed information on this competition can be seen on IFCC Website (www.ifcc.org).